Designing an Outfit

31 May

When I first come up with an outfit, the idea I have in my head usually doesn’t translate into a total deal. In this section, I’ll describe how I go from the idea I have in my head to the final product.

In my head, the outfit I had in mind looked like this:

(Yes, I know the military jacket is a little old and la la la la. But, I saw a military-inspired vest in H&M the other day. That’s my justification.)
It’s okay, but the colours are kind of block-y, and the outfit doesn’t really flow.
So.
I added a necklace and a few bracelets to break up the blocks of colour.

It kind of worked, but the outfit still didn’t flow well. My next idea was to add patterned tights and partially button the jacket.
This turned out to be the final outfit:

TADA!
I feel like this would be suitable for a semi-formal dinner or some such.

Dress, Harmony
Jacket, Forever 21
Tights, Modcloth
Shoes, Thrifted

What do you think?

3 Responses to “Designing an Outfit”

  1. Tara Melissa May 31, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    Cute! I would have never thought of using tights like those, but you pull it off! 🙂

  2. Suze May 31, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    I love the dress with those tights! Patterned tights are like the perfect accessory! 🙂
    And, if you like military, continue to rock it! I think it’s still “in.” 🙂

  3. tenthousandchandeliers May 31, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    I loooove these tights.
    They makes everything better. xD

Leave a Reply

